Skip to content
November 12, 2010 / Georgina Whittle

The ‘Onesie’…

Embrace the tiger onesie!

As the all in one sleep suits spread into high street shops several weeks ago, I swore to myself that I would never lower myself to write this following blog…

The all-in-one sleep suit, or more commonly named ‘onesie’, is an outfit no longer made purely for young children. Now, thanks to high street retailer Primark, the fleece outfits are now available in adult sizes, and in a variety of colours and patterns. Anything from sheep patterns and giraffe spots to army combat or tiger print, the choice of which onesie you decide to humiliate yourself in is all yours!

Unflattering is an understatement when it comes to describing this foul fashion fad. Made of fleece fabric cheap enough to turn hair static, and showcasing an undeniably awful design for any body shape, this outfit doesn’t exactly nip in the waist and flaunt the curves.

However, made primarily for lounging around the house and escaping the winter chills, this suit does function well for the cold couch potatoes amongst us. Caution must be made though for not only making quick dashes to the kettle or door, but also when making that last minute dash to the loo. Despite coming complete with foot grips, slipping is highly likely, and when paired with a stuck zipper panic, the combination make for pure disaster.

But…despite the unsightly design, slipping hazard, potential stuck zippers and cheap fabric, I am afraid I must confess; I too am now the proud owner, and wearer, of a onesie. And I tell you what, my tiger print fleece was the best £10 spent this week!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Mar 19 2012 10:45 pm

    Where did u buy ur onesie?

    • Georgina Whittle / Mar 19 2012 10:51 pm

      I got it from primark over a year ago, but they still sell them occasionally in the men’s section!

Leave a comment