Skip to content
November 13, 2010 / Georgina Whittle

My Dog Jess.

There was never going to be an easy way to share this news. So, instead of becoming a teary mess each and every time I talk about it, I have decided to put my feelings into words and share this information to everyone in one hit. This is certainly not the easiest thing I have ever written, nor anything I ever planned to write, but I feel it is the best way to get out what has to be said. So, here goes…I’m ready with my box of Kleenex and ready to share with you the story of Jess.

A dog is a man best friend. And mine, was called Jess.

A best friend is always loyal, and there for you when you need them. They listen, dry your tears, and bring you happiness. Jess was all of those things, becoming more a family member than a dog. She was a best friend, a sister, a companion, and my security.

She helped me greatly through my teenage years, listening to my worries and licking away my tears. She listened when I was scared to move to University, and knew exactly how to cheer me up when I was down. She danced with me. Played with me. Ran with me.

She trained for 3 marathons, went camping, chased the wind. She caught sticks, found old tennis balls, chased waves on the beach. She licked snowflakes off her nose, rolled in mud and would bite at buses through the car window.

She became an annoyingly good alarm clock, vetted any boys I liked, and ate too many biscuits. She liked shreddies and bananas, and took great pleasure in nicking the cat’s tuna each day. She loved her tummy rubbed, ears tickled and squeaking her toy bone.

She hated buses, sheep, cows and fireworks. Was never keen on horses, and disliked small and irritating dogs…

I couldn’t have asked for anything more from my hairy and wet nosed best friend over the years, so I would like to say Thank You Jess, for being so loyal, sociable, and a pleasure to have known.

Now that Jess has unfortunately gone, I shall know that I am not alone in saying that she will be greatly missed. But, if it brings any ease, her ashes shall be scattered in Stanmer Park by the dew pond, the area where she loved covering herself in mud each time she passed and digging in the dirt.

I know that I am not alone when saying that she shall be greatly missed,

Jess, you will always be in our hearts,

x.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mum / Nov 17 2010 9:08 am

    Thank you for being so brave and sharing your love for Jess with everyone, I now have to write to my friends ,but with teary eyes and a snoty nose.x x x love you

  2. Luce / Mar 14 2011 12:18 am

    this makes me well up everytime I read it- love you GG xx

Leave a comment